Fourth edition of TAAI Travel Awards recognizes best in the industry in 2012

ITTE 2012 also saw industry experts sharing their knowledge in four insightful and interactive business sessions conducted over two days

Travel News
Travel News

In recognition of the travel industry's achievements in 2012, the Travel Agents Association of India (TAAI) felicitated the winners of the fourth edition of the TAAI Travel Awards, held on October 22, 2012 at Trident, Nariman Point, Mumbai.

The awards were held alongside the Indian Travel Trade Expo (ITTE) 2012. The Chief Guest for the function was Shri Subodh Kant Sahai, Tourism Minister, Govt. of India who felicitated the winners.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Mr Iqbal Mulla, President of TAAI, said, “At TAAI Travel Awards, our aim is to acknowledge the best service providers from the travel and tourism segment and acknowledge their efforts by awarding them across categories. These awards are in order to show our appreciation to the travel industry and encourage them to continue providing best-in-class services and products for the end consumer."

A few of the important awards that were given out include: Best Indian State Tourism Board awarded to Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation, Best Heritage Hotel awarded to Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur and Best Leisure Resort & Spa (Individual Property) awarded to The Oberoi, Vanyavilas, Ranthambore. A special TAAI Appreciation Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Travel Trade in India was given to Air India.

ITTE 2012, that was inaugurated by Shri Chhagan Bhujbal, State Tourism Minister, Govt. of Maharashtra, also saw industry experts sharing their knowledge in four insightful and interactive business sessions conducted over two days.

The sessions on ‘Inside India,’ ‘Maximizing your Revenue’ and ‘Future Trends of Travel Trade in India’ were paneled by prominent personalities like Mr. Ashish Kumar Singh, Secretary to Chief Minister of Maharashtra; Mr. Vipul Mittra, Principal Secretary - Tourism, Civil Aviation & Pilgrimage, Govt of Gujarat; Dr. Adel El Masry, Director-India, Egyptian Tourism Office; Mr. Jasdev Singh, Director – Indian Subcontinent, Expedia; Mr. Rajeev Wagle, MD, Kuoni India.

A key business session on ‘The United Voice’ - President’s Round Table, held on the second day of the expo, was specially arranged by TAAI where all the key travel and hospitality associations of India like Enterprising Travel Agents Association (ETAA), Association of Domestic Tour Operators of India (ADTOI) Indian Association of Tour Operators (IATO), Indian Tourist Transporters Association (ITTA), and Air Cargo Agents Association of India (ACCAI) were represented along with TAAI.

This session brought together all the key associations from the travel and hospitality sectors and proved to be a great platform for the association leaders to voice their issues and problems. Mr. Mulla said,

“Through the President’s Round Table, we managed to bring onboard gallant minds of the industry on a common ground to achieve a common goal for everybody’s benefit.

This session helped us discuss collectively about issues like taxation, growth, opportunities and various trends in the sector.” All associations, including TAAI, unanimously agreed that what this industry needs at the moment was growth, which should be the main focus of the industry. Mr Mulla appealed to the industry and spoke about making efforts to achieve the same.

The issue of taxation which interrupts the smooth functioning of travel and tourism sector was also discussed at length. ITTE 2012 hosted over 30 stalls and recorded around 850 visitors this year. The dates of fourth edition of the expo and the ITTE Travel Awards will be announced soon.

The list of TAAI Travel Award Winners as follows: 


» Read Complete News.....

(You need to login first to read complete news).
New User? Register for FREE!

» Back to Travel News